Learn more about the INS, its mission, and the growing neuroethics discipline.

About INS
What is neuroethics?



The INS Board of Directors consists of 15 members who are leaders in the field of neuroethics. Members serve 3-year terms with turnover coinciding with the annual meeting.

Board / Staff

Governance Statement

  • The 15 members of the Board of Directors will have three-year terms, in staggered order. Terms will end on the last day of February of each year. The Board of Directors should have a diverse membership, broadly reflecting the diversity of the Society's membership, especially with respect to geography.
  • The Executive Committee will appoint a chair and two additional members to the Nominating Committee. These committee members may be members of the Board of Directors or Executive Committee, but need not be. The other members of the Nominating Committee will be elected by the membership, by electronic means. Only members are eligible and they "run" for the Nominating Committee either by nominating themselves or by being nominated by another member and agreeing to run. Each nomination will need to be seconded by at least one member.
  • The Nominating Committee will be asked to suggest new members of the Board of Directors to replace those who have resigned, let their membership lapse, have had their terms end, or have otherwise left the Board. They should recommend at least twice as many possible members as there are openings and should take into account the needs for balance in the membership of the Board of Directors. They will not be asked to nominate anyone for a particular office. The Executive Committee can add nominees in exceptional circumstances.
  • The Board of Directors will consider these suggestions in appointing new members of the Board or appointing existing members to new terms. It may go outside those suggestions, but it is expected that normally it will not.

Strategic Plan

The INS leadership reflected on the identity of the Society, our successes and gaps of the past, and our aspirations for the future, ultimately identifying the following four priorities and practical steps listed below as part of the Society's first Strategic Plan.

  • Position the Society as an authoritative body on matters pertaining to neuroethics
  • Promote and support research, scholarship, and education in the field of neuroethics
  • Develop sustainable funding for the Society
  • Retain and recruit members
Strategic Plan (2016–2021)