Program Committee


Organizing the Annual Meeting of the International Neuroethics Society

Composition & Terms

The Program Committee is composed of 6 members, one of whom will serve as the Chair. Each member serves at least a 2-year term, but no more than 4 years. The current chair should be a member of the International Neuroethics Society board and should have served on the conference program committee in the previous year.

Duties & Responsibilities

The program committee is responsible for the content and execution of the annual meeting. With respect to content, members of the committee are responsible for identifying suitable topic areas, soliciting speakers, reviewing symposia and topic suggestions and abstract/poster submissions from the Society’s membership. With respect to execution, members of the committee are responsible for identifying a suitable venue, managing event advertisement/promotion, and media outreach.


Ideally, there should be an 12-month timeline leading up to the meeting, in order to secure speaker commitments early. With one committee and 12-months intervals between meetings, that means that for about 6 months of the year, the committee will near the end of preparing one annual meeting and begin planning the next annual meeting. Committee members are expected to participate in monthly hour-long conference calls, and to work on assignments between conference calls. 


The Chair of the Program Committee will report to the Executive Committee and/or the President of the International Neuroethics Society.   

2017 Committee Members


  • Judy Illes, University of British Columbia
  • Cynthia Kubu, Cleveland Clinic

Early Career Scholar Co-Chair

  • Ariel Cascio, Institut de recherches cliniques de Montréal


  • Tom Buller, Illinois State University
  • Molly Crockett, Yale University
  • Veljko Dubljevic, North Carolina State University
  • Joseph J. Fins, Weill Cornell Medical College
  • Helen Mayberg, Emory University
  • Karen Rommelfanger, Emory University
  • Rachel Wurzman, University of Pennsylvania


  • Karen Graham, INS Executive Director
  • Elaine Snell, INS Chief Operating Officer
  • Robert Beets, INS Website/Communications