Steven E. Hyman Award

The Steven E. Hyman Award for Distinguished Service to the Field of Neuroethics is bestowed annually to members of the scientific community at the INS Annual Meeting. Recipients of the award are chosen by the Society's current president, immediate past president, and president-elect.

The award was initiated in 2016 by the INS Board of Directors to recognize people who have helped develop the field of neuroethics and who have contributed to the INS. The inaugural award went to Steve Hyman for his contributions to the early formation of the neuroethics field, service as the Society's first president, and continued support for growth of the Society. 



Walter Koroshetz


Martha Farah


Helen Mayberg


William Safire, posthumously presented to Ed Rover and Barbara Gill, Dana Foundation


Steven E. Hyman