Member Groups

Affinity Groups

Members can join the topical Affinity Groups to discuss issues at the annual meeting and collaborate on special projects and publications.

  • Addiction Neuroethics
  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Brain-Based Legal Implications
  • Cognitive Enhancement
  • Deep Brain Stimulation and Neural Engineering
  • Global Health and Neuroethics
  • Neuroscience and Free Will
  • Neuroscience and National Security
  • Neurotechnology and Artificial Intelligence


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Board is responsible for deliberating on key issues facing the Society and formulating and advancing strategic initiatives to be carried out by other committees and task forces. Committee members include the current President and members of the Board.


  • Nita Farahany, Duke Law School (USA)


  • Martha Farah, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
  • Joseph J. Fins, Weill Cornell Medical College (USA)
  • Debra JH Mathews, Johns Hopkins University (USA)
  • Ilina Singh, University of Oxford (UK)
  • Paul Root Wolpe, Emory University (USA)

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee is responsible for maintaining a viable leadership structure, recommending updates to the bylaws and terms of reference, and overseeing the succession planning process for President, President-Elect, Board members, committee chairs, and other Society leadership positions. Committee members are selected from current members of the Board.


  • Debra JH Mathews, Johns Hopkins University (USA)


  • Nita Farahany, Duke Law School (USA)

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee recommends individuals to serve on the Board of Directors and for the office of President, President-elect/Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer. The committee also reviews nominations provided by the membership before the election.


  • Joseph J. Fins, Weill Cornell Medical College (USA)


  • Winston Chiong, University of California, San Francisco (USA)
  • Cynthia Forlini, University of Sydney (Australia)
  • Marcello Ienca, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
  • Nicole Martinez-Martin, Stanford University (USA)
  • Roland Nadler, University of British Columbia (Canada) – Student/Postdoc Representative 
  • Karen S. Rommelfanger, Emory University (USA)
  • Arleen Salles, Uppsala University (Sweden)
  • Laura Specker Sullivan, Fordham University (USA)


  • Karen Graham, INS Executive Director

Program Committee

The Program Committee is responsible for the annual meeting, including identifying suitable topics and speakers, reviewing suggestions, and reviewing abstract and poster submissions from the Society's membership. Members of the committee are responsible for finding a suitable venue, managing event advertisement/promotion, and media outreach.

The following committee members planned the 2020 INS Annual Meeting


  • Adrian Carter, Monash University (Australia)
  • Nicole Martinez-Martin, Stanford University (USA)
  • Anna Wexler, University of Pennsylvania (USA)


  • Martha Farah, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
  • Stephanie Hare, University of Maryland, Baltimore (USA) – Student/Postdoc Representative
  • Marcello Ienca, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
  • Philipp Kellmeyer, University Medical Center Freiburg (Germany)
  • Eric Racine, Montreal Clinical Research Institute (Canada)
  • Karen Rommelfanger, Emory University (USA)
  • Arleen Salles, Uppsala University (Sweden)
  • Francis Shen, University of Minnesota (USA)
  • Laura Specker Sullivan, Fordham University (USA)


  • Karen Graham, INS Executive Director
  • Robert Beets, INS Website/Communications Director

Student/Postdoc Committee

The Student/Postdoc Committee represents early career members of the INS, their interests, and makes recommendations to the Board regarding initiatives affecting students and postdoc members. The committee currently manages an annual essay contest and contributes to the development of mentoring activities for Society members. A member of the Student/Postdoc Committee serves as a student representative on other INS committees. An established INS member serves as a faculty mentor to the committee.


  • Roland Nadler, University of British Columbia (Canada)


  • Katherine Bassil, Maastricht University (The Netherlands)
  • Ishan Dasgupta, University of Washington (USA)
  • Stephanie Hare, University of Maryland, Baltimore (USA)
  • Tabitha Moses, Wayne State University School of Medicine (USA)
  • Abidemi Otaiku, National Health Service (UK)
  • Armani Porter, University of Chicago (USA)
  • Joshua Preston, University of Minnesota (USA)
  • Andreas Schönau, University of Washington (USA)
  • Farhad Udwadia, University of British Columbia (Canada)


  • Andrea Giuffrida, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (USA)


  • Karen Graham, INS Executive Director
  • Robert Beets, INS Communications Director

Task Forces

Emerging Issues Advisory Task Force

The Emerging Issues Advisory Task Force advises and assists INS in strengthening its international voice in the field of neuroethics by providing expertise, analysis and guidance for professionals, policy makers, the media and the general public on the ethical and policy issues associated with advances in neuroscience.

If you believe there is an issue that the Society should consider officially addressing, please email your suggestions to [email protected] with the subject line: "Emerging Issue for Consideration." Submissions should include sufficient detail so that the Task Force can appreciate why you believe the matter should be a priority for INS action. All submissions will be acknowledged.


  • Nicole Martinez-Martin, Stanford University (USA)


  • Laura Cabrera, Michigan State University (USA)
  • Adrian Carter, Monash University (Australia)
  • Jennifer Chandler, University of Ottawa (Canada)
  • Ishan Dasgupta, University of Washington (USA)
  • Philipp Kellmeyer, University Medical Center Freiburg (Germany)
  • Karola Kreitmair, University of Wisconsin–Madison (USA)
  • Anthony Weiss, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (USA)

Diversity & Inclusion Task Force

The Diversity & Inclusion Task Force aims to contribute meaningful and measurable progress advancing diversity and justice within our communities, throughout the sciences and humanities, and around the world. Task force members, in coordination with leadership and staff, will lead efforts to determine how best the Society can foster a climate of inclusion, create resources for marginalized people, and dismantle unjust systems both in neuroethics and the neurosciences more broadly.

Members of the INS and the neuroethics community are encouraged to share stories and experiences of exclusion. Email members of the task force at: [email protected]


  • Tim Brown, University of Washington (United States)


  • Jayashree Dasgupta, Samvedna Senior Care / Sangath (India)
  • Nicole Martinez-Martin, Stanford University (United States)
  • Rosemary Musesengwa, University of Oxford (United Kingdom)
  • Laura Specker Sullivan, Fordham University (United States)