2021 INS Annual Meeting
Online Conference
November 4-5

The following schedule is listed in chronological order. Most events will be happening one at a time, but several small group workshops and professional development sessions are being held concurrently. More sessions, workshops, networking activities, and speakers will be added to this schedule as confirmed. Please check back frequently.

Schedule

Panel   Thursday · 12:00p EDT · 16:00 UTC · 5:00p CET · 9:30p IST  /  Friday · 1:00a KST · 3:00a AEDT

Equity in Global Mental Health Care

This panel will explore how mental health care intersects with nationality, nationality gender, sexual orientation, and/or disability in an international context. Panelists will discuss how mental health is understood across local and international contexts, how disparities in mental health have social and economic determinants, how mental illness is caused by or is co-morbid with marginalization and persecution, how mental health care neglects marginalized people, and how we can be more just in treating mental illness.

 

  • Jose Humberto Nicolini Sanchez, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (Mexico)
  • Eunice Kamaara, Moi University (Kenya)
  • Neely Myers, Anthropology Southern Methodist University (United States)

 

Panel   Thursday · 3:00p EDT · 19:00 UTC · 8:00p CET  /  Friday · 12:30a IST · 4:00a KST · 6:00a AEDT

Minding the Gap: Equity and Justice in AI and Neurotech

Ethical scrutiny of AI-driven neurotechnologies has often focused on potential risks to individuals rather than on societal implications or justice issues. Lack of attention to diversity and equity while developing and implementing these devices can lead to limitations in how they work for people in different social contexts — or for people of different racial, cultural, linguistic, or disability backgrounds. This panel will engage questions regarding diversity and inclusion, privacy and surveillance, in the development and implementation of artificial intelligence for neurotechnologies.

 

  • Alena Buyx, Technical University of Munich (Germany)
  • Ricardo Chavarriga, Confederation of Laboratories for Artificial Intelligence Research in Europe (Switzerland)
  • Oiwi Parker Jones, University of Oxford (United Kingdom)
  • Gregor Wolbring, University of Calgary (Canada)

 

Panel   Friday · 9:00a EDT · 13:00 UTC · 2:00p CET · 6:30p IST · 10:00p KST  /  Saturday 12:00a AEDT

Re-examining Values and Priorities in Global Neuroscience Research

This session will feature a discussion of the specific priorities for development and use of neuroscience and neurotechnologies, including the type of opportunities available to develop and fund neuroscience and neurotechnology, as well as the need and challenges to engage diverse participants and communities in research globally. The discussion will also examine how current funding mechanisms might exacerbate or mitigate social injustice and inequities. The session includes panelists from countries with a diverse research and translational neuroscientific maturity.

 

  • Nandini Chatterjee Singh, UNESCO (India)
  • Karen Herrera Ferrá, Asociación Mexicana de Neuroética (Mexico)
  • Tamami Fukushi, Japan Science and Technology Agency (Japan)
  • Moderator: Jayashree Dasgupta, NeuroGeneE Project / Samvedna Senior Care / Sangath (India)

 

Panel   Friday · 10:30a EDT · 14:30 UTC · 3:30p CET · 8:00p IST · 11:30p KST  /  Saturday · 6:00a AEDT

Environmental Neuroethics: Setting the Agenda

The importance of the interrelationships of brain, mental health, and the environment is gaining global attention from both the point of view of biomedicine and ethics. This panel will highlight the ethics considerations with a focus on social justice. We will discuss steps needed to catalyze cutting-edge science and technologies to understand mechanisms, outcomes, and interventions, and inform decision-making at scientific and policy levels.

 

Panel   Friday · 3:00p EDT · 19:00 UTC · 8:00p CET  /  Saturday · 12:30a IST · 4:00a KST · 6:00a AEDT

Neurotechnology, Neurolaw, and Social Justice: Predicting and Preventing Criminality in Imprisoned People

The brain sciences continue to have considerable impact on surveillance, policing, legal practice, and incarceration. However, this influence carries the risk of worsening inequities or violating human rights. This session will explores the history and current practice of using the brain sciences to explain, predict, and prevent antisocial behavior — focusing on the consequences this has had and continues to have for vulnerable and marginalized communities globally. We will also consider the role neurotechnologies will play in the future of criminal law.

 

  • Eyal Aharoni, Georgia State University (United States)
  • Jinee Lokaneeta, Drew University (United States)
  • Oliver Rollins, University of Pennsylvania (United States)